Khaje Shamsuddin Mohammad Hafez Shirazi, who is known as Hafez, is a great poet of the 8th century of Iran and one of the famous orators of the world, whose sonnets are special in the world. He has a very special place among Iranians because of his mystical poems, and therefore his book is used in many Iranian ceremonies, such as Yalda night. Hafiziyah is not only one of the most important tourist attractions of Shiraz for the residents of this city, but also one of the main places that must be visited on a trip to Shiraz.
This place is known by this name because of the location of Hafez’s tomb. Hafez, which has a global fame, attracts many domestic and foreign tourists to visit this complex every year, and even large concerts have been held in the area of Hafeziyeh.
One of the great orientalists who always loved the history, civilization and art of Iran was the French “Andre Godard”. He was a graduate of the School of Fine Arts in Paris, the designer and architect of this beautiful place, Hafiziyah.
History of Hafeziyeh
After the noble soul of Hafez (in 792 or 791 A.H.) joined the kingdom of heaven, he was buried under the shade of a cypress tree in Mosli garden, which was his residence and place of recreation. 65 years after his death (i.e. in 856 A.H.) during the reign of Mirza Abulqasem Gorkani, the teacher and minister of Hekran Gorkani named Shamsuddin Muhammad Yaghmai built a domed mansion over Hafez’s grave and built a large pond in front of it which was filled from Roknabad creek.
This building was restored in the early 11th century during the reign of Shah Abbas. During the reign of Nadir Shah Afshar, repairs were made to the tomb. But the most fundamental work on Hafez’s tomb was during the time of Karim Khan Zand. In 1189 AH, he ordered the construction of a basic structure on Hafez’s tomb. His building had a hall with four integrated stone pillars, open to the open space from the north and south sides, and there were two rooms on the left and right sides. Hafez’s tomb was located in the north of the hall and a large garden was visible in the south. These four columns with a height of five meters still stand out in the middle of the hall in front of the stairs with faded but beautiful patterns.
Karim Khan Zand ordered to carve a marble stone for Hafez’s grave and after the stone was prepared, two of Hafez’s sonnets, written by Haj Aghasi Bey Afshar, were to be carved on it.
After the rule of Zandiyeh, many people repaired and restored the tomb.
During the repairs of this place, the wooden fasteners fell, and because of that, the traces of the wooden fasteners falling on the tombstone can still be seen in the form of cracks in the stone.
Prince Malek Mansour built an iron coffin on Hafez’s grave and placed an inscription on it.
In the year 1314, the late Ali Asghar Hekmat Shirazi and Ali Riami prepared the map of Hafez’s tomb, in its current form, with the design and supervision of engineer Andre Godard, a great French orientalist and Iranologist, and it was completed in 1937.
Hafezieh is a two-hectare complex that consists of two main parts, the south and the north. These two main parts are separated by a 56-meter hall consisting of 20 stone columns with a height of five meters. The tomb of Hafez Shirazi is located in the northern courtyard.
You can enjoy this beautiful, historical and big place by going to the beautiful city of Shiraz and make a memorable memory in your mind.