Iran Tourist Visa

Iran Tourist Visa

Iranian visas are categorized as tourism, long-term, business, on arrival (VOA) and multiple entry. People who intend to travel to Iran for sightseeing must submit an application for an Iran (tourist) visa to the authorities concerned. Iran’s tourist visa is valid for 3 months after the issuance, after this period has passed and if it is not used, the applicant must apply for visa again.

You Can Apply for Iran (Tourist) Visa to The Authorities Concerned in Two Ways:
  1. Visit the consulates of the Islamic Republic of Iran in different cities and different countries, and request an Iranian tourist visa.
  2. Get your visa at Iran’s international airports. Citizens of some countries, except for 11 countries, can apply for their tourist visa on arrival at Iran international airports.

The 11 countries that cannot have their visa issued on arrival are: Colombia, Somalia, UK, Canada, USA, Bangladesh, Jordan, Iraq, Afghanistan, India and Pakistan. Citizens of these countries must apply for a visa through Iranian consulates in their country – or Iranian consulates in other countries.

What Documents Are Required to Apply for Iran Visa Through the Consulate?

First, you must fill out an Iran Visa application form. Remember that it is necessary to have the reference number of a valid travel agency to apply for Iran visa (tourist visa). But if your purpose is pilgrimage and religious tourism, a written request is sufficient and you do not need a reference number of a travel agency. You also need two recent, 3×4 cm, full-face, biometric photos, without hat and sunglasses, and written on the back.

Obviously your passport must have at least six months validity and a sufficient number of white pages. You have to pay fee to issue a visa. These fees are according to the consulate’s cost table and are calculated according to initial point of travel (about 50 to 140 euros). The payment receipt is also one of the things you need to get a visa.

How Long Does It Take to Get Iran Tourist Visa?

If you go to the consulates of the country to apply for an Iran visa, after filling out the documents and application forms, it will take 7 to 10 business days for your visa to be issued. If you want to issue a visa VOA at Iran’s international airports, your visa will be issued in the shortest possible time and without any delay.

How Long Can I Stay in Iran with A Tourist Visa?

Iran tourist visa is issued with a stay of 45 days. After this time, you can apply for an Iran visa (tourist visa) again by visiting the Ministry of Foreign Affairs offices in Iran and extend your visa up to 60 days. Although, note that stay duration for visa-free nationals is different.

Important Tip

Nationals of 7 countries can have visa-free travel to Iran, only with a valid passport. Of course, on the condition that they are not on the list of prohibited persons. Citizens of Syria, Turkey, Lebanon, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Bolivia and Egypt can travel to Iran only with a valid passport. Although this trip has a limited time. If an extension is needed, they can go to the offices of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and extend their visa-free stay. Citizens of Syria for 90 days, Georgia for 45 days, Bolivia for 30 days, Egypt for 20 days, Lebanon and the Republic of Azerbaijan for 15 days can have visa-free stay in Iran.

How to Get a Visa for Those Under 18?

Foreigners under the age of 18 who intend to travel to Iran need to submit a written permission letter from their father (or legal guardian) to obtain a visa (either on arrival or through Iranian consulates). This permission letter must be approved by the local notary.

Who Cannot Travel to Iran?

Israel citizens cannot travel to Iran.


Tourist Visa for Qeshm, Kish, Chabahar and Other Free Trade Zones in Iran:

Qeshm and Kish are two islands in the south of Iran and Chabahar is a port in the southeast of Iran. The rules for traveling to these places are slightly different from other parts of Iran. Citizens of all countries who have a valid passport can obtain a 14-day visa at the entry points (port and airport) to travel to Kish, Qeshm and Chabahar free trade zones (and other free trade zones of Iran) and after their trip to these areas, if they decide to visit other parts of Iran, they must go to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs offices in these zones and get a new visa. This law is valid for all free trade zones of Iran (including Aras, Mako, Anzali, etc.)